Staff

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

navigation Community

 

 

 

 

 

 

JOKI, MAKELA, POLLACK & AHONEN, PLLC
CERTIFIED PUBLIC ACCOUNTANTS

ANNOUNCE:

A CHANGE OF OWNERSHIP

AS OF OCTOBER 1, 2013, WILLIAM J. JOKI, CPA HAS
WITHDRAWN FROM THE PARTNERSHIP. MR. JOKI WILL
CONTINUE TO WORK WITH AND BE AN INTEGRAL PART OF
OUR FIRM IN A PROFESSIONAL CAPACITY INTO THE FUTURE.

A CHANGE OF NAME

MAKELA, POLLACK & AHONEN, PLLC
CERTIFIED PUBLIC ACCOUNTANTS
301 NORTH SUFFOLK STREET
IRONWOOD, MI 49938

 

Makela, Pollack & Ahonen, PLLC has 14 persons on staff, skilled in the areas of auditing, accounting, and taxes.


Our firm has three principals, all of whom are Certified Public Accountants and members of the American Institute of CPAs and the Michigan Association of CPAs.


Tim Makela (tmakela@ironwoodcpa.com) has been with our firm since 1978 and is a graduate of Northern Michigan University. He is on the board of directors of the First National Bank of Wakefield and is a member of the Michigan and Wisconsin Peer Review Committees.


Tony Pollack (tpollack@ironwoodcpa.com) started with our firm in 1979, after graduating from the University of Minnesota-Duluth and is a Certified Specialist in Estate Planning. He is a past president and a current board member of Rotary, a board member of the Ironwood Industrial Development Corporation, and a member of the Knights of Columbus.


Karl “Gus” Ahonen (kahonen@ironwoodcpa.com), a Northern Michigan University graduate, started with our firm in 1996 and became a principal of the firm in October of 2009.


Our firm has two other Certified Public Accountants who are also members of the American Institute of CPAs and the Michigan Association of CPA's.


Bill Joki (bjoki@ironwoodcpa.com), who started with our firm in 1977 and retired as an owner of the firm in 2013, is a graduate of Michigan Technological University. He is a past president and a current member of Rotary.


Dean Beaudoin (dbeaudoin@ironwoodcpa.com), a Northern Michigan University graduate, started with our firm in 1981. He is an active member of the Superior Sky Divers group.


Staff accountants are Shelley Nordine (snordine@ironwoodcpa.com), Simon Store (sstore@ironwoodcpa.com) and Brittany Bennetts (bbennetts@ironwoodcpa.com). Shelley is a graduate of DeVry University and has been with our firm since 1995. She is a current member and has held various offices of the Ironwood Area Business and Professional Women's Club. Shelley is a QuickBooks ProAdvisor and also works with Peachtree and other accounting software.  Simon is a graduate of Central Michigan University and started with us in December of 2011. Brittany, a Michigan State University graduate, started as an intern during the summers of 2011 and 2012. She joined our full-time staff in January of 2013.


Joanne Sorensen (jsorensen@ironwoodcpa.com), Betsy Ludwig (bludwig@ironwoodcpa.com), Nicole Hellman (nhellman@ironwoodcpa.com), and Jennifer Norden (jnorden@ironwoodcpa.com) make up the computer training and bookkeeping departments. Joanne, who started with the firm in 1985, has a one-year accounting certificate from Suomi College and also helps at the front desk. Betsy, Nicole, and Jennifer are graduates of Gogebic Community College. Betsy started with our firm in 2002 with over 20 years of bookkeeping experience, Nicole started in September of 2011, and Jennifer started in January of 2013.  


Megan Kolesar (mpa@ironwoodcpa.com) is our firm's office manager. Megan is a 1993 graduate of Northland College and started with us in November of 2002. She is also a member and has held various offices of the Ironwood Area Business and Professional Women's Club.

Our firm also hires additional staff during tax season and offers internships at various times during the year.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Home | History | Services | Community | External Peer Review Report | Staff | Related Links

 

Contact Ironwood CPA

Phone: 906-932-4430
Fax: 906-932-0677
Email: mpa@ironwoodcpa.com